There are multiple ways to control user access to your site and content.

Before users log in

Control what users see before logging in by making your site private or public preview.

These settings affect every user; Before logging in, the system doesn’t know who they are, so it treats everyone the same.

For a multi-site platform, private and public preview sites can be combined in creative ways. Learn more about multi-site access combinations.

Private site

Keep your site private so that users only see the welcome page before logging in. See welcome page configuration options.

An example private site before logging in.

Public preview site

Make a public preview site to show potential users what they could get once they join. They can navigate around the site and preview content. But once they try to interact with content, they are prompted to log in.

You can control which content is previewable! Learn more about what preview looks like and see all configuration options.

An example public preview site. You can preview content but must log in once you try to interact.

After users log in

After users log in, the system knows who they are. Now they can be treated differently depending on their access level.

You can control who has access to specific pieces of content or site navigation pages. For example, within an event site, you might create multiple ticket levels or restrict admin-only content.

Access levels on content

Individual pieces of content are controlled by access level tags.

Add an access level tag to a piece of content and to the users who you want to access it. If someone doesn’t have the correct access level tag, they are prompted to upgrade.

Access-level-restricted content looks a little different when it’s also previewable. Learn more about using public preview and access levels together.

An example of content locked by an access level tag.

Curtains on pages

Curtains hide navigation pages from users who don’t have the correct access level tag or user level (like site admin). The link is completely hidden from the navigation menu.

Curtains can be added to primary navigation pages or extra pages in the More menu. They cannot be added to subnavigation pages or content pages.

Or use curtains to create different experiences for different users on the same page. We do this by creating two versions of the same page. Then with access level tags or user levels (like site admin), users are assigned to only see one of the pages.