On a public preview site, content is previewable to users who aren’t logged in. You can control which content is previewable.

(lightbulb) Before you begin

This is only one of a few ways to manage user access to your site and content. To learn more about all of them, see Access types.

About preview

Previewing means that:

  • You can click into content and view most of it. Some parts of it are hidden.

  • You can’t interact with it. For example, you can’t add a session to your calendar. When you try to interact, you’re prompted to log in.

  • You can click external links.

By default, all content and pages on a public preview site are previewable. But you can choose to make individual pieces of content NOT previewable. You can also configure specific elements within content.

Watch this demo video:

An example public preview site. You can preview content but must log in once you try to interact.

Using preview and access levels together

Preview and access levels can be used together.

When logged out, you preview content. The system doesn’t know who you are yet, it just knows that you are allowed to preview.

When you try to do something that’s not allowed in preview, you’re prompted to log in.

A dialog tells users You must login or create an account to do this, then allows login with a magic link or password.

An example login prompt, when you are logged out.

After logging in, access levels come into play. Now the system knows who you are, and which access level you have. For example, if you didn’t purchase a VIP ticket, you can’t fully access any content that has a VIP access level tag… But you can still preview it! The inaccessible page looks just like it did in preview. When you try to interact with it (for example, adding a session to your calendar), you’re prompted to upgrade for full access to the piece of content.

What if a piece of content was never previewable? (You can set individual pieces as “do not preview” using the configurations below.) In that case, the VIP content isn’t previewable even after logging in. When you try to open the inaccessible content you're immediately prompted to upgrade.

An example upgrade prompt, when you are logged in.

What content preview looks like

This is how preview content appears by default. See your configuration options below.

Sessions and in-person sessions

  • Can view the description.

  • The attendee list is hidden on the session information page. Otherwise, it looks the same as when you are logged in.

  • When the session goes Live, the page doesn’t change; You still see the information page. You never see the video stream or chat panel.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to select the attend button, like the session, add it to your calendar, or download resources.

The session preview page looks like this whether it's Upcoming, Past, or Live.

On-demand content

  • Can view the description.

  • A gray overlay and lock icon cover the header image or video. You can’t play the video. A message prompts you to log in.

  • The comments section is hidden.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to download resources, select Complete, like the page, or answer questions.

The on-demand preview page looks like this.

Exhibitor suite

  • Can view the description.

  • A gray overlay and lock icon cover any videos in the rotator. You can view rotator images.

  • The exhibitor chat panel is hidden.

  • Resources are hidden.

  • The comments section is hidden.

  • Prompted to log in when you interact with content. Exceptions are:

    • Can click external links, like social media links or links in the rotator.

    • Can click attached sessions. These links take you to the session’s preview page.

    • Can open exhibitor representatives' profiles.

    • Can open products.

The exhibitor suite preview looks like this.

Speaker page

  • Can view the description.

  • Can click attached sessions. These links take you to the session’s preview page.

  • Metadata links (social and contact) are hidden.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to download resources, select Complete, or like the page.

The speaker page preview looks like this.

Course

  • Can view the description.

  • The list of lessons is hidden on the course page. This means you can’t open any lessons.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to like the page, start the course, download resources, or answer questions in the course description.

The course page preview looks like this.

What preview looks like on other pages

This is how other site pages appear when someone is not logged in on a public preview site.

These pages are not configurable. They are always previewable unless the site is private.

Search and filter

Can search content and use filters, wherever search bars appear around the site.

Directory

  • Can open other users’ quick profiles and full profiles.

  • Recommendations and My Contacts are empty.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to schedule meetings, send messages, or save contacts.

The directory preview page looks like this.

Schedule

  • Can view the schedule and export it as a PDF.

  • Can click into a session to view its preview page.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to select Attend or Add to Calendar

The schedule preview page looks like this.

Social feed

  • Can view all posts, but can’t interact with them.

  • Can’t view comments.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to like posts, create posts, or open posts to see more.

The social feed preview page looks like this.

Forum

  • Can view all topics and open topics to see posts.

  • Can open posts to see more, but can’t interact with them.

  • Comments on posts are hidden.

  • Prompted to log in when you try to follow a topic, like a post, or create a new post.

The forum topics preview page looks like this (above).

The forum posts preview page looks like this (above).

Content preview configuration options

Change how content appears when previewed. If you have a multi-site platform, you can configure each site differently.

These configurations only affect content: Sessions, in-person sessions, on-demand content, exhibitor suites, speaker pages, and courses. They do not affect other pages, like the directory, schedule, social feed, forum, and navigation pages.

Turn off content preview

Element

Options

All content types

(error) Turn off content preview. When users try to open or interact with content, they are immediately prompted to log in. The rest of your site is still previewable.

For individual pieces of content

These configurations only affect the content that you specify. They can be applied to sessions, in-person sessions, on-demand content, exhibitor suites, speaker pages, and courses.

Element

Options (click to enlarge examples)

Any content type

(error) Make an individual piece of content NOT previewable by adding the Do Not Preview tag to it. A lock icon in the corner of the image indicates that it can’t be opened.

Exhibitor and On-demand pages

(tick) Allow users to watch the video on an individual piece of content by adding the Allow Video Preview tag to it. This does not apply to sessions because logged-out users never see the stream page, only the session information page.

Sitewide

These configurations affect every piece of content on the site.

Element

Options (click to enlarge examples)

Sessions

(tick) Allow users to add a session to their external calendars (AOL, Gmail, Outlook, etc.) when they are not logged in. They still cannot select Attend to add it to their JUNO calendar or schedule meetings with other users.

Any content type with an attendee list

(tick) Show the attendee list on the bottom of session pages and on any content with a list of users who liked it.

Viewing session attendees:

Viewing attendee likes:

Any content type with downloads

(tick) Allow users to click to download resources.

Any content type with a comments section

(tick) Allow users to view comments.

Tab navigation configuration options

Element

Options (click to enlarge examples)

Any page with tab navigation

(error) Hide individual tabs in preview. Once users log in, they can see the tab.

Login prompt configuration options

When you try to do something that’s not allowed in preview, you’re prompted to log in. This works differently for SSO and non-SSO login:

  • SSO: You are redirected to the welcome page, to log in with your SSO credentials.

  • Non-SSO: The login pop-up appears, to log in with a magic link or email and password.

A dialog tells users You must login or create an account to do this, then allows login with a magic link or password.

An example login pop-up.

You can change those defaults:

Element

Options

Non-SSO login prompt

(tick) Open the full welcome page instead of the login pop-up.

SSO login prompt

(tick) Send users to a set SSO page instead of the welcome page.